MTG Card of the Day: Sanguine Bond & Exquisite Blood

Today’s MTG Card of the Day will actually be a combo day! Today we will look at two enchantments: Sanguine Bond and Exquisite Blood. These enchantments are both black, both cost five, and synergize very well to end your opponent in what is called a loop combo. Many still consider this an “infinite combo” but keep in mind that if there is infinite life involved, then it is. However, we know that in Magic: The Gathering games each player generally has a finite amount of life. So let’s break these down individually.

First is Sanguine Bond, this enchantment’s ability states: “Whenever you gain life, target opponent loses that much life.” This means you have to trigger the ability by gaining life is some way, such as lifelink, spells, other abilities, etc. and in triggering with the gained life you can target an opponent to lose as much life as you gained! Pretty cool huh? This of course means that if an opponent has hexproof or shroud you will be unable to target them

Life’s all about give and take

Next, we have Exquisite Blood, this enchantment has the opposite effect where whenever an opponent loses life, you gain that much life. To trigger this ability the opponent has to lose life by direct damage, spell damage, and even when an opponent pays life to activate some other ability. This enchantment is a little more useful and doesn’t require a target, meaning that hexproof and shroud do not prevent this enchantment’s ability to be triggered.
When these two enchantments are in play together, it only takes one of them to be triggered to cause the loop combo. When either one are triggered, they begin a process of “stealing” the life force from a target opponent that loops until the opponent hits zero life giving you the win!

I’ll take that, if you don’t mind

Keep in mind that is combo is not a sure thing, as there are many spells out there that can destroy enchantments, give hexproof or shroud to opponents, and there are counters to casting spells.
A word of caution to using this combo, you cannot take away the opponent’s ability to stop the combo. This gets tricky sometimes, but just keep in mind if you are playing this type of loop combo or any other you have to allow the opponent an opportunity to stop it. A good rule of thumb would be to avoid having cards out that limit what spells or abilities opponents can use. If the opponent is unable to stop the combo due to something you have in play that prevents a response they can call the game a draw due to unfair play. This can get a bit mucky to navigate, but always talk it through with your opponent and remember it’s only a game! No fist fights people!
Hope you enjoyed this article, share it with your friends. If you’re interested in Magic: The Gathering and want to start playing, remember the internet is a great tool, but nothing beats supporting your local game store!


Written by: Garett

2 Comments Added

Join Discussion
  1. Bob March 18, 2016 | Reply

    So I guess having Grand Abolisher out on the battlefield when using say Heroic Reunion to initiate Sanguine Bond/Exquisite Blood combo would qualify as grounds to declare a draw due to unfair play.

    • Bob March 18, 2016 | Reply

      Correction: Heroes’ Reunion

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Thank you for visiting We are your new outlet for everything nerd!

Want us to review a game you don't see on our site? Send us a message on our Facebook page!

Subscribe via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to our website and receive notifications of new posts by email.